Little Big Town Releases 'The Reason Why'

22 October 2010
Little Big Town Releases 'The Reason Why'

Little Big Town's trademark four-part harmony is the common thread through the latest album "The Reason Why". The group four members share lead vocals on the album's 12 tracks.

Karen Fairchild, Kimberly Schlapman, Phillip Sweet and Jimi Westbrook formed Little Big Town in 1998. The group signed its first deal with Monument Records in 2002. When the label closed its doors, they moved to Equity Records, which folded in 2008. That same year, Little Big Town moved to Capitol Records for the release of their third album, "A Place To Land."

In addition to challenges in their music career, the group members have faced obstacles in their personal lives. But, during the past five years, each has married and added children to their families. They say the album's title track deals with the contentment in their lives.

"It just seemed to fit a lot of different things, [the album title has] a lot of layers of meaning for us," said Phillip Sweet. "Really, the music has always been the driving force for us and the reason we do all the things that we do and keep pursuing on to strive and make better music."

"Little White Church" was the first single from "The Reason Why." It became Little Big Town's fastest-rising single on Billboard's Country chart, where it peaked at Number 6.

Although Little Big Town's sound has been compared to Fleetwood Mac and ABBA, the group has no plans to abandon its Country roots.

"Country music is our heart, and I think if the music reaches beyond those boundaries in a natural way, I think that's really cool," said Sweet. "We want our music to be heard around the world. But our heart and soul is Country music, and we love it."

Last month, Little Big Town kicked off a U.S. concert tour with Sugarland. In November, they'll head out on their own headlining tour.

For the fourth year in a row, Little Big Town is nominated for the Country Music Association's Vocal Group of the Year Award. The CMA's will be held in Nashville on November 10.